Drone shot out of sky.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Birdshot tells me it was a lot lower than 400'.
There's no need for hover and hold over other (strangers) property.

Good luck in court.

Birdshot tells me it was a lot lower than 400'.
There's no need for hover and hold over other (strangers) property.

Good luck in court.

F'ed up, yes, but I'm not sure it's illegal. I'm no lawyer but I don't think he owns the airspace above his property, but there definitely is legislation that says you can't shoot flying vehicles out of the sky.

A new hobby is born in the US? :D

From what I have read birdshot has a max travel of 200 (198) yards but it looks like the effective range is around 60 yards (for shooting clay targets with any kind of accuracy) - so that means he could have been flying as much as 180 ft above the property (if not slightly more). I am curious as to how high these guys were flying. If it was 150+ feet the invasion to privacy would be relatively low (from what you can see from the camera). The problem I have run into (just in conversations) is that everyone thinks you can see right into someone's house or that the drones have zoom lenses or something. Will be interested to hear how this turns out...

I'm no lawyer but I don't think he owns the airspace above his property, but there definitely is legislation that says you can't shoot flying vehicles out of the sky.
It's also illegal to discharge a firearm within 500 feet of a residence, as well as destroying someone else's property. I hope he gets slammed so there's precedence for the rest of the tinfoil hill billies in this nation.