Drone ignored pull-back command = crashed

Reaction score
I'm new to drones; not new to RC flight. This is my first Phantom.

Generally impressed, yet greatly concerned.

Plan: Slow approach and fly-over shot of a town clock in a park.
(one of those tall old-towne iron post-mounted clocks they put in parks)
Very calm day, almost no wind which was what convinced me to go fly..

The P4 was facing the Clock. When it started to get too close (At this point the Obstacle Avoidance was clearly not working) i did a 100% pull-back and away control command that was completely ignored by the aircraft until after the P4 made contact with the clock lens :mad:, where it then descended down the post to the concrete, where it decided to shoot-off backwards (full-vertical-tilt), into a concrete/brick wall which it bounced off of and tumbled over until finally tasting dirt and getting stuck. :oops:

I haven't figured out how to upload a flight log yet, but I did find it and carefully studied the timeline, commands and resulting flight. It clearly shows my CSC to pull-back and away, and shows the UAV completely ignoring the command, then losing control on contact. This was clearly a malfunction. I would be the first one to say it was my fault if I wasn't the one holding the controller, but I know I pulled back and I also know the aircraft didn't. It's not the first time I've made a CSC for the aircraft to move, and it ignored the command - I figured it was something I did, since it didn't happen again, until this incident.

No one was harmed; no property (other than the aircraft and my dignity) was damaged.

The battery ejected (i presume once it hit the wall) which was found only 3 feet from the LZ.

Two props were trashed, the others might make good spares at best.