Drone hobby, is it for me ?

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

After weeks of reading i finally created an account here, because i have a question i can't figure out;

For 5 months i'm looking to buy a drone, i was planning to buy the P4, but when i heard the rumors about the P4P i decided to wait a little longer. After i have seen the upgrades to the camera ( especially stills) i want to get the P4P.

BUT: i'm a student (the Netherlands) and i can afford the P4P (1699 euro) but is a big expense. I'm worried that i don't fly it after a while. That is also what i read on the few dutch forums, this because the regulations.

Regulations are: max 120m height, no max distance but you should always have the drone in a line of sight. And there are a lot of no fly zones in our little country.

What i'm i planning to do with the P4P, flying for fun. I love to edit video, and would like to take more aerial photos too. For me as an IT Engineer it is also a plus to be more outside :p.

So my actual question is how do you decide if it is worth the 2k investment for you ? I already tried a cheap drone that my brother owns but i didn't like that, but i'm also interested mainly in drones because the ability to record video and take fotos.

Thanks,

Wouter

PS: English isn't my native language. So i'm sorry if it isn't perfect.

Reactions: Reed L
120 meters is 393 feet, that's plenty high enough in my opinion, You can't notice the difference between that and 400 feet. To me I own a drone because I like flying and I like taking videos, If you want to get into flying and video then definitely get one. I got hooked right away when I flew my first drone years ago, its an awesome and scary experience some times, but looking at the video at end of the flight makes it all worth it to me.

You might not become this famous youtuber that makes drone videos but I never expected that I make them just to see the world from a different angle.