Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Sigfús Steindórsson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I´ve been wondering if a normal none 4g enabled tablet is enough or if i should use my galaxy s7 with airplane mode on or not.
    Doesn´t return to home need maps and for maps you need a data conncetion?
     
  2. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    You can save maps ahead of time for areas you will be flying in. For live maps, yes, you need data or wifi.
     
    Sigfús Steindórsson likes this.
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6,523
    Likes Received:
    2,148
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Cellular data is needed at site if you like to update maps at site or establish live video feed to YouTube.
     
    Sigfús Steindórsson likes this.
  4. Sigfús Steindórsson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the replies guys, then i´m wondering what happens if i get a phone call whilst flying? has that happened to you or anyone you know?
     
  5. SouthernPhantom

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    122
    If someone calls, just don't answer it. However, with a phone, the less going on, the better. I leave my data on during takeoff to get the current Google map, then switch to airplane mode. If I forget, it doesn't hurt the flight. You can even shut your phone off, reboot it, and reconnect if you're flying in GPS mode.
     
    Sigfús Steindórsson likes this.
  6. Sigfús Steindórsson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow good info,that´s what i´ll do, wi-fi off, data on during take off and then boom- airplane mode . Thank you sir
     
  7. SouthernPhantom

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    122
    Yes. One more comment ... It's obviously best to have everything working properly and checked out before takeoff to avoid scary problems. My point was that, it's the RC that controls the flight, more so than the phone.
     
    Sigfús Steindórsson likes this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - need cellular data Forum Date
Ipad Air 2 - Is cellular data plan needed? Pro/Adv Discussion Jan 3, 2016
Do drones need cellular? General Discussion Feb 7, 2017
ipad mini 2 - do I need cellular? Pro/Adv Discussion Aug 24, 2015
Advanced Why does it need cellular & GPS? Phantom 3 Help Jul 21, 2015
No need to cache maps with Ipad cellular. Pro/Adv Discussion May 12, 2015