DJI Phantom not taking off

Reaction score
Hi all,

Newbie here. I have just purchased a DJI Phantom original. Have done the following pre first flight:

1. Checked props on Nazam
2. Completed Advanced Calibration
3. Updated to latest firmware
4. Ensured props are tightened
5. Full battery charge
6. Calibrated RC
7. Completed manual calibration - spin around vertical and nose up.
8. Lights are green and ready for take off.

I then activate props through my remote and the Phantom doesn't take off. Refer to this video.

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qsetTUdP3JE[/youtube]

Any thoughts on what i could be doing wrong or is this a lemon?

Thanks
Phil

Are the cw props mounted on the cw shaft and the CCW props on the CCW shaft? If they are mounted incorrectly the air above the props will be pushing "up" instead of "down".

Jerry I've got the 2 silver cap props on the solid silver rotors and the black cap props on the black capped rotors. I assume that is right? In any case the air is definitely pushing down when I up the throttle on the RC.

UrAwFuL said:
Are you holding the throttle up? :?

Yeah you can hear the Phantom increasing power when i throttle up. Essentially I'm taking it to maximum thrust but it doesn't elevate.

philmccreviss said:
UrAwFuL said:

Yeah you can hear the Phantom increasing power when i throttle up. Essentially I'm taking it to maximum thrust but it doesn't elevate.

Yeah, I hear it throttle up.. but I'm curious if you're holding the throttle longer than like.. 3-5 seconds cause like all I hear is the motor revving for a second then it sounds like it went back to neutral. It was pretty evident near the end cause I hear the stick re-centering.

I might be wrong. :lol:

Would like to know more details.

UrAwFuL said:
philmccreviss said:
UrAwFuL said: