Dji phantom 3 and fly wind

Reaction score
hello until now price wind should fly?until 10mph?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If you meant maximum wind speed recommended for flying, most people here will tell you that under 18 mph is ok to take the drone out. I usually don't take it out if wind at 400 feet is more than 15 mph... I use the UAV Forcast app to verify this data...

Reactions: With The Birds
I flew yesterday in 37-43kmh winds and it was okay, but not much fun. Having to make sure down wind on return etc. It was working overtime staying in one place at times.

I'd say half of that is better for a better experience.

I flee yesterday with 30kmh and one metre of ground crash and broken proppels

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Beginner here

Been eager to fly again after some bad weather; today all the boxes on the UAV Forecast app where green apart from wind, which was red because of over 20mph winds. Decided I'd take her for a ride. I completed all the checks & hovered at 1 meter for a couple of minutes. I felt happy, and took her straight up to 50 meters, and suddenly the wind took her 250 meters away from me.

I felt massively uncomfortable, and immediately started to begin to bring her back; however I really struggled as I was flying into the same strong winds that took her away. I was managing speeds of only 3mph max, and at one time I was really concerned about getting her back. It seemed an eternity, but eventually I got her back safely.

As a noob, I’m possible overreacting. However, for now I’m setting the UAV Forecast to 10mph, and only flying on all greens.

Out of interest I took a look at my healthy drones log; it estimates the winds I caught where averaging at 43.2mph (link below)

HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters

Last edited: