DJI in Antarctica

Reaction score
Hi all

Apologies, newbie here with my first post :)

Just a question that you guys may have an answer or thoughts on, I've had a phantom for about three months, been using it in Brisbane without issue, good aerial photography and filming with an adapted Tarot 2-d gimble setup.

Now, the reason I bought it is that I'm currently in Antarctica for a year and obviously the opportunities for photography down here are amazing. I took the DJI out for it's first flight the other day and it started out OK for about twenty seconds and then started to lose control, it started side slipping, I tried to compensate but every time I did it tried harder to go in the direction it wanted. I bought it down pretty hard, re-calibrated as I thought that may be the issue and then tried again, this time, even worse it just went mad heading off across the sea ice....A big crash later and I have two smashed prop guards and a slashed hand from trying to turn it off whilst it was biting me with carbon props :)

Now I note in the manual it states that it won't work at the North or South pole (which I'm not technically at) but from what I can read it looks like the GPS receiver isn't getting quick enough response times back from the satellites as they're at the equator and requiring a minimum of 30ms round trip to work properly...

So, IF I disable the GPS side of things will the DJI still fly relatively OK or is it a bit of a nightmare to handle? Alternatively does anyone have any ideas on how to improve it's functionality down here?

cheers in advance

Stu

I remember someone mentioned that snow covered ground may interfere with a certain frequency since he has gotten control/interference issues only in winter at the same location, but fine in other seasons sans the snow.

Not sure if that's true though.

You could try ATT mode which does not rely on GPS. It probably relies on the compass. How does a compass act down there?