DJI Double Defects Crash! TBE & Low Voltage Forced Landing!

Reaction score
My DJI Phantom 2 crashed into the Caribbean sea due to two known DJI defects. First it was the Toilet Bowl effect moved it 170 meters away from home point above the water and then low voltage battery effect forced it to auto land straight down into the water. All were done without any pilot input! This disaster unfolded right after the quadcopter was being lifted from ground. It has been calibrated and was flying in GPS mode when the disaster hits.

I have been flying the Phantom 2 for the past 4 months. This video was recorded on my PC as I have been very careful with every flight and record each flight i took(Both on PC feed through FPV video transmitter from Phantom and also onboard GoPro camera recording in HD resolution). Onboard the quadcopter was the GoPro Hero 3 Black camera that was also doing recording when it crashed, I have not yet able to recover the the HD video from the P2. There were no interference at this location as I have been flying there for the past few months. The battery inside the Phantom has only been discharged 45 times according to the Phantom Assistant Software but it has had issues with early auto land at 40% for the past two weeks prior to yesterday's 90% forced auto land. Totally unexpected as you can see. just never knew it would auto land at over 90% battery life this time.

The toilet bowl effect is known by the Phantom 2 owners community and is still being worked out by DJI.

So here we have a scenario where two defects happened at once and at the same time! If only had either one happened, it would still have survived with minor damages. But this is now totaled due to full submersion. Over USD$1500 worth of equipment loss. I think DJI needs to be held accountable for this! :evil:

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZNxnwQtFuo[/youtube]

Re: DJI Double Defects Crash! TBE & Low Voltage Forced Landi