Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI 3 4K Compass Error

Discussion in 'Phantom 4K' started by jjanus, Apr 2, 2018.

  1. jjanus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    The DJI 3 4K I have here has worked relatively fine for the past two years, it failed to deploy one day and has failed to deploy since - Here is the video.



    With each DJI Go App update, the software gets worse and I fear that the manufacturers have sold my information, are manipulating the vehicle, and have a personal vendetta against me. I cannot revert back to the original firmware or software. I do the humiliating "rain dance" to calibrate the compass and it will not calibrate. It beeps, it makes an awful sound, and I feel like there is some conspiracy going on with the manufacturers. The drone come after me one day and with each new update, I feel they are loading more software designed to ruin the drone.

    How can I confirm that they are doing this? Can anyone explain how to fix this?
     
  2. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,110
    Likes Received:
    1,043
    Location:
    Windy & cold NZ
    Stop doing rain dance,I stand straight and just turn drone (don't look so silly)
    Have you tried delete old app and reinstall,compass error just picking up what your close to,or does it not matter where you are,what colour your remote and drone lights,is your wifi on,,,dumb question but just eliminate stuff ,bit hard to watch clip,it's bit off screen to see exactly
     
    MotorCycle-Man likes this.
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    12,548
    Likes Received:
    6,824
    Repeated failure to calibrate is much more likely to be due to a broken compass wire or a disconnected compass than any conspiracy against you.
    Put the paranoia away and look at the app settings.
    Find the sensors section and see what it's telling you about the compass.
    Here's how it looked in an older version of the app:
    [​IMG]
    If you see zero for compass data, you know that the compass is not connected and will never calibrate.
    If so, it is either a broken fine wire in the landing gear or the connection to the mainboard is dislodged.
     
    MotorCycle-Man, jjanus and ianzone like this.
  4. jjanus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Meta4,

    It appears that may have caused the issue. Do you think they can remotely trigger the wire to break loose or possibly have a bug in the firmware? There's no telling with these things thank you for your advice. I checked under the shell and plugged in the GPS and it started working. However, I do not know if it was not separated to begin with. It has been flying fine up until that point.
     
    Meta4 likes this.
  5. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    12,548
    Likes Received:
    6,824
    Good to hear it's easily fixed.
    I'd have to say, probably not.
     
  6. BriG

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    I’m glad you got it sorted but WOW - remotely triggering a wire to break... Seriously
     
  7. rich5464945

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    I need a tin foil hat when I fly my drone LOL
     
    RunningWithScissors likes this.
  8. Treeman

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Next time you get a compass error, switch out the sd card with another and retry. I know it sounds crazy, but this solved compass errors for me (and others found the same to be true). Worked 5 times out of 5 times in the last ~18 months.
     
  9. Claudiox

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    libero e vegeto
    30 minuts in the refrigerator no frost without the accumulator and IMU calibration is ok no error.Incredibile ma vero verificato.
     
  10. RunningWithScissors

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    661
    Location:
    New York
    I wear my foil hat every time I fly my Phantoms and, so help me, I have NEVER had a compass wire break even one time. Oh, look at the time. Gotta run. The mother ship will be here any minute and I've got to finish packing.
     
    ianzone likes this.
  11. umanbean

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Georgia, US
    Packing what, my son? You won't need clothes on the Mothership... ok, a toothbrush and some deo maybe...

    And you better hurry - miss the Mothership and you'll be stuck here with the rest of us for the rest of your life... bwaaahahahaaaaaa
     
    RunningWithScissors and ianzone like this.
  12. RunningWithScissors

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    661
    Location:
    New York
    You're killin' me.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - DJI Compass Error Forum Date
Professional Compass Error in dji go, not on healthy drones? Phantom 3 Help Jan 11, 2016
Positioning error of the compass DJI application Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion Dec 28, 2015
Compass error with DJI Software Upgrade v3.12 on Phantom 2 Phantom 2 Discussion Mar 24, 2015
Not dji intelligent battery and compass error Phantom 2 Help Jun 27, 2014
Has DJI changed the compass calibration procedure? Phantom 4 Discussion Sep 1, 2017