Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Disconcerting Situation When Setting RTH Altitude

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SoCalDude, Oct 1, 2016.

  1. SoCalDude

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    Warm & sunny Southern California
    So, I'm out in the field today with my P4 and DJI Go v3.0 (this week's update) and I'm setting my RTH altitude--at least I'm attempting to.

    I could not set any altitude (RTH, max alt, etc). I fought with this for 30 minutes--killing/restarting the Go app, rebooting my iPad Air 2, turning everything, including the P4, off and back on. I could not set any of the numeric configuration settings because there was no way to hit the "Enter" key or "Done" key.

    I was mentally blaming the new v3.0 app until I finally figured it out. I also use the Google keyboard on my iPad. It's called "Gboard". It's one of those swipe-to-type keyboards. It also has a numeric keypad. It's smart enough to know when only numeric input is allowed and displays said numeric keypad. Well, it's too smart! This keyboard has no "Done" key as the default iOS keyboard, nor does it have an "Enter" key.

    So, I could type any numeric value for the RTH altitude, but there was no way to save or commit it. If I left that settings tab or closed the whole settings panel, I would come back and it would contain the original value (not what I wanted).

    So, the resolution was to go to another app that has text input and choose the iOS keyboard.

    Check out the screenshots of both keyboards below...

    The Google GBoard:
    [​IMG]


    The default iOS keyboard:
    [​IMG]
     
    Steve9897, degoi and Falcon900 like this.
  2. degoi

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks ! I was struggling with the same issue.
     
    SoCalDude likes this.
  3. Phantom_Menace66

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Forgive my ignorance, I also cannot find an enter/save button. You said you used another app with keyboard, which app? I have a windows based system, do you mean on the DJI Go app?
    Cheers in advance...
     
  4. Duchunter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    162
    He said he used an apple device to set the rth altitude. It saves it to the bird not the app so when you open the app on another device the value will remain what you set it to on the other devise. Seems like there is a way to select another default keyboard in the android settings.
     
  5. Steve9897

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lithia, FL (near Tampa)
    Thank you! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!!!!!!!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Disconcerting Situation Setting Forum Date
Very Disconcerting During Litchi Waypoint Mission Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Mar 23, 2017
App Disconnections very disconcerting Pro/Adv Discussion May 16, 2015
P4 distance range question per my situation, too short and how come? Phantom 4 Help Feb 13, 2017
What's the stickiest situation you've been in? +new video Standard/4k Discussion Feb 4, 2017
Howdy fellas and gals. INTERESTING situation General Discussion Jan 29, 2017