Difficult to Install Props - Is This Normal?

Reaction score
Hi, all!

I am new to RC. My objective for purchasing a Phantom was specifically for aerial media acquisition. I say this to let you know that prior to working with it, I have had absolutely no experience with this stuff! I haven't a clue as to how it should "feel" when installing the props, and I was quite surprised and concerned with how difficult it was and still is to do. For 3 out 4 of my rotors, the props would not go on without use of pliers and clamps - one to hold the rotor and the other to force the prop down on to the hub. I was very careful to align them according to the shape, but it really had the feel of trying to force a square peg into a round hole. By use of the method explained above, I was able to squeeze the stubborn props down enough to finally get a bite on the bolt, and then use a small crescent wrench to screw the props down to the level that the one non-stubborn prop easily snapped down to. Similarly, attempting to remove the stubborn props is terribly difficult. I'm afraid I'm going to break or bend the arm or mess up the rotor position. This just doesn't seem right. Is there some special tool that facilitates this process? Would it be OK to bore out the hole on the props a little first? It doesn't appear to be the faulty props, as the problem is consistent with the stubborn rotor hubs regardless of the prop used.

The good news is, so far flying has been great! I love it! I have a high altitude video I'm editing and will upload it soon.

Thanks for the help, all!

Chris

They can be a bit tricky to install, but not THAT difficult, and shouldn't require tools. (just a little muscle).
but the key is making sure that the notches are lined up.

A couple of mine were hard to put on and I found that there was a bit of excess plastic at the bottom of the flat part. Scraped that away and it went on like the others with only gentle pressure needed.