Depth Perception Advice for a Newbie

Reaction score
Please excuse me if these are very basic questions. I just got my DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ and have only taken it up once. I'm practicing on a DJI Phantom 2 simulator (heli-x) since I'm brand new at this stuff and don't want to risk crashing it.

My questions are:
1) When you are flying your quadcopter far away to where you can barely see it, how are you knowing which way to fly it? Are you going only off the video feed and little screen from the camera?
2) How do you figure out depth perception in the air? For example I'm 20ft from that tree and about to hit it.

I'm guessing I'll figure this out along the way when logging flight time hours, but wanted to ask since it looks there are a lot of experts on this forum. Thanks for any help you can offer and hopefully I can help others out too one day.

I've had mine since September and done maybe 150 flights (as in 150 batteries worth) and still have issues with depth perception.. I think its due to the screen on the phone being pretty small.. A friend uses a monitor which is like the size of an ipad and it is much clearer and easier to figure out. He is able to navigate through tree's and stuff with it. With me I get to scared because its way to hard to tell if you near it until the last second.

On my Samsung S5 its just to small is the problem I think.

I borrow the GFs Ipad mini sometimes and its much better. more fun I think.

lindjiguy said:
Please excuse me if these are very basic questions. I just got my DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ and have only taken it up once. I'm practicing on a DJI Phantom 2 simulator (heli-x) since I'm brand new at this stuff and don't want to risk crashing it.

My questions are:
1) When you are flying your quadcopter far away to where you can barely see it, how are you knowing which way to fly it? Are you going only off the video feed and little screen from the camera?