Decision Time: iPad Mini 2 or Nvidia Shield?

Reaction score
I know some answers might be out there, and the two tablets have been on the market for some time. Yet, I'm curious to ge 'modern' opinions (justified) of the two tablets, Pros and Cons of each ... etc.

I like the sharpness of the iPad screen, yet the built-in GPS of the Shield. Both are available for $200.

You cannot go wrong with either device. Go with the device that has the features you need and/or the OS you're more comfortable using.

My suggestion, as well - use what you're already accustomed to. Is your phone android or iOS? There's your answer. I'm using an iPad Mini 2 since I've been using iOS devices since 2007. The iPad works extremely well. Also, if you use DJI Go and Litchi, Android devices are reputed to start up the Litchi app in the background causing conflicts while using Go. I can't speak to this, as it hasn't been an issue on the iPad.

if you use DJI Go and Litchi, Android devices are reputed to start up the Litchi app in the background causing conflicts while using Go.
This sounds like a configuration issue. I've never experienced this issue with my Nvidia Shield K1 or my other Android devices.

This sounds like a configuration issue. I've never experienced this issue with my Nvidia Shield K1 or my other Android devices.

This is a potential issue I only recently read about. It may be limited to a single manufacturer or even a single user. Just passing it along as one consideration. The Shield appears to be a great device to use with the Phantom based on reports I've read. I've only experienced the iPad.

Last edited:
Yes, the Nvidia Shield K1 is awesome. Like yourself though, I do enjoy using my Apple devices. That's what I fly with most of the time.

Thank you Guys ... I was hoping for a simple answer, obviously there is no such thing :).