Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Dashware Issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Forts, Oct 19, 2014.

  1. Forts

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    3
    Has anyone else had issues with the video not showing when a clip is opened in Dashware? Just installed my Flytrex yesterday and made a quick flight today to give it a try. I installed the Dashware demo but cannot see any video after opening a clip. PC is running Windows 8 which from what I've read shouldn't be an issue. I've followed the suggestions in the Dashware FAQ (uninstall/reinstall Quicktime, install KLite codec pack etc etc) to no avail. I then installed it on an older Win7 pc and it works fine... but this machine struggles with HD video so I'd prefer not to use it.

    Any suggestions? Thanks!
     
  2. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
    Initially I was testing it on a Windows 7 VM running on the Mac. Now I run it native in Win 8.1 and have not had a problem. Have been using since Feb 2014.
     
  3. Forts

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    3
    So bizarre... I still can't get this to work. Dashware says to run the Windows Media Player fixer from Microsoft... Guess what? It's not Win8 compatible. Argh!

    Are there any decent alternatives to Dashware? I played around with RaceRender a little bit and it works ok (and is even a little cheaper than Dashware), but their selection of gauges and such is mainly aimed at the automotive side of things.
     
  4. isky172

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Find and install the latest 64bit or 32bit (depending on your system) FFMpeg.exe files from the Interweb and put them in the Dashware folder (post-dashware install). Overwrite the original. Then relaunch Dashware and see if that fixes it. Worked on mine. (Win 8.1 w/64bit).
     
  5. mmn

    mmn

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
    Sounds to me like a video card or driver issue. Pretty sure it's nothing to do with Dashware.
     
  6. toolo4sno

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having similar issues. I have tried the KLite codec with no luck so far editing. Only a black screen/no video. That said, has anyone had success editing Dashware output files with the Microsoft Media Foundation option in 60fps. It is the output type I used for 30fps and edited in Vegas with no issues. Now it shows good for 1s then highly pixelated for the duration.
     
    #6 toolo4sno, May 25, 2015
    Last edited: May 25, 2015
  7. Xplore

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone found a fix? I have the same problem with win 10. Can't import any files. No problems importing / viewing with other programs!

    Sent from my SM-G901F using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. Merlinthewise1

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    10
    go to
     
  9. Merlinthewise1

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    10
    go to healthydrones.com..upload the text file you need..after that you can download the text file as a csv file...thts the format dashware uses
     
  10. Dbinott

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
  11. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    1,357
    I'm still on 8.1 and Dashware is still working perfectly for me. I can use Litchi or Flytrex data files - or both.
     
  12. Dione

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same issue with my Windows 10 desktop. However, on a whim, I downloaded Dashware to my laptop and it works on it. It is Windows 10 as well so I cannot figure out why it works there and not on my desktop.
     
  13. mmn

    mmn

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
    Because you don't yet have the Anniversary Build on your laptop?
     
    Mark The Droner likes this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - Dashware Issues Forum Date
Dashware or RaceRender Pro/Adv Discussion May 23, 2017
Has ANYONE Found a Way to use Dashware with P3 Pro Videos without having to "Pay to Play" solutions? Pro/Adv Discussion May 12, 2017
Dashware 1.9.1 + DJI P3P video @ 1080p60 Software Apr 15, 2017
Professional Dashware / life coach Phantom 3 Help Mar 25, 2017
Dashware and P3S Standard/4k Discussion Mar 17, 2017