Crazy Question -How keep IMU warm while waiting for the Shot

Reaction score
Hi, does anyone have any tips on how to keep the IMU warm for long periods of time, while I'm waiting for the shot? Or hwo to get the IMU to warm up really fast? I'm going to be doing a video shoot in a week of whitewater kayakers coming down a river, (I'm a professional Director so this is a pro shoot) at a location thousands of miles from my house, so I won't have a lot of time to actually scout the river very much. The challenge is, from the time I see them coming around the bend, I probably only have about 10-20 seconds to get airborne and line up for the shot. One way is to put a Camera Assistant about 1-3 minutes up the river... which may or may not work, if he can get access to an overlook. But there has to be a way to keep the IMU warm on another battery...?

I tried plugging a spare battery into the Phantom, and waiting for a few minutes, well after it's take-off ready. Then I disconnect the spare, and quickly plug in the onboard battery. At that point I get alternating green/red flashes for about 3 or 4 sequences, then a sequence of 3 green flashes, and those 3 greens repeat indefinitely. I haven't tried flying at that point, I'm too worried about a fly-away, especially since my shoot is in a week. And after poring over the LED codes, I can't find anything that matches those sequences.

If I wait about 1 minute after disconnecting the spare, and connect the onboard battery, It's ready to go in about another 45 seconds. So that's 1:45 total ... way too long.