Cracked base of phantom battery

Reaction score
Hey All,

I was charging the phantom 2 battery and it dropped on the floor by accident :(. I cracked the base of the hard case protector (photo attached)...It still turns on and their doesn't appear to be damage inside. Do you think I can continue to use it or do I need to buy a new battery? Wondering if this has happened to anyone and what they decided to do.

Attachments

• IMG_0720.JPG
    IMG_0720.JPG
    586.7 KB · Views: 992
I'm no expert, but I'd say that if the only damage is the white outer housing and not the actual battery itself, then you are probably OK.

Personally, I would use some super glue to repair the case as long as the battery itself is not showing any signs of swelling.

Yes. I would get some good glue and seal the cracks. I use Loctite Gel super glue for most everything. I read here, that it dissolves the Phantom's plastic. I did a test and I didn't experience that. This glue takes 5 minutes to set, so it gives you some working time. They came out with a professional super gel glue. So far, it doesn't,work as well.

Same thoughts as above.
Sorry to read you had an accident with your battery.
At least it shows us how fragile these batteries are.

Ya thats just the cage that looks cracked. Throw some super glue on it and close the cracks together and let it bond and it will be all ok. If its real springy and hard to hold the cracks shut while trying to super glue it tape works well to hold it and let it sit till the super glue bites in to the plastic some. You can also spit on super glue or rub some baking soda on it to change the ph and make it set instantly.

A lot have posted using superglue which will work, but I personally prefer a 2 part epoxy resin. You can probably get some at your local hardware store. It's easier to work with and it seems to provide more strength, at least based on my experience.