Controller battery dead...?

Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
20
Reaction score
6
Age
50
Hi all, I am on holiday at the moment with my P3P. Used it in the U.K. Recently with no problem. Wanted to fly it today and went to turn the controller on. No lights come on even though (I think) it is charged. When I plug in the controller to the power supply I can turn it on and DJI go indicates 100% battery charge. As soon as I take the charging cable out, the controller dies on me. I guess a few questions:-
Any idea of why this would be? Could it be knackered battery cells in the controller? Any "bush fixes" anyone can recommend? If I found a power socket close to where I want to fly it, could I fly it with the controller plugged in to the mains supply or is this a daft / dangerous idea? I'm seriously gutted as I have flown half way around the world with my Phantom and can't use it.. ☹️. Any ideas very welcome..! Thanks in advance. If i don't reply to a response quickly it is because I am in a very poor wifi area..!


Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
20
Reaction score
6
Age
50
Sorry, one more question..! I think there is someone here who has a phantom 4. Could I borrow his controller..!


Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
Messages
94
Reaction score
16
Age
55
Have you thought about possibly using one of the portable battery rechargers for a cell phone? They have USB plugs and you could just attach your charging cable to it and the remote. Just a suggestion.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
  • Like
Reactions: gglass

alokbhargava

Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
6,943
Reaction score
2,322
Location
San Francisco, CA
There should not be a problem with power connected to your RC but it's a great risk as plug might get loosened during movements and there are chances your P4 will see RTH conditions.

Yes you can use P4 RC after linking with your P3


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
  • Like
Reactions: gglass
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
3,013
Reaction score
522
There is a reset the can be done on tx.

push the 2 back buttons And switches on control wheels at same time when powering up.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
59
Reaction score
12
Age
47
Location
South Wales
If you are on holiday outside the UK have you taken in to account the the difference in voltage? . We recently took a trip to Spain and our android tablets never reached full charge, same in Greece. John

Sent from my F3311 using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
3,013
Reaction score
522
If you are on holiday outside the UK have you taken in to account the the difference in voltage? . We recently took a trip to Spain and our android tablets never reached full charge, same in Greece. John

Sent from my F3311 using PhantomPilots mobile app
All the chargers are rated 110v to 240v so you will get full charge on the phantom and controller world wide.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gglass
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
20
Reaction score
6
Age
50
Hi John, other things like GoPro are charging.. ☹️. Seriously gutted, holiday of a lifetime in Maldives and I can't even switch the controller in unless plugged in to the mains..


Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,696
Messages
1,413,534
Members
99,361
Latest member
MayhemnMenace