Complete Newbie, First Flights, Scary Story & Questions

smp

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a complete newbie with flying remotely controlled vehicles.

I received my Phantom 3 Standard today. I've been studying the User Manual for a couple of days while it was in transit.

I got the battery and the remote controller charged up. I downloaded the DJI GO app onto my iPhone 5. I watched some of the DJI tutorials that I found online. I tested everything inside (without propellors installed), so I got my Phantom registered and I saw all the indicators about upgrading the firmware, but I did not do that for fear of all the problems and hangups that have been being reported. I got up the nerve and I went outside to give it a go.

I managed to do a compass calibration sucessfully. I Had slow blinking green status LEDs. I did an auto-takeoff. I tried out the controls a little bit. I did an auto-landing. Whew!

I performed a couple of more of these tiny test runs successfully.

On my fourth try, I started to move around my yard a little bit. I was getting bolder about flying. That's when my iPhone 5 deceided to konk out. I was in the middle of aoverhead pass, and the Phantom was heading toward the corner of my house and some bushes. I admit it - I panicked and the Phantom collided with the corner of my house and fell into the bushes.

My big surprise came when I lifted the Phantom out of the bushes. The motors went to full on and there was no longer any control by the remote controller at all. So, here I am holding on to this raging quad buzzsaw. I tried unsuccessfully a few times to turn off the battery. It did the blinking lights as if it was turning off, but then it came right back on again each time. I finally was able to wrestle the battery out of the Phantom without getting sliced to bits by the propellors.

Aircraft status: One broken propellor, a few scuffs on the body and landing gear, and scuffs on one of the other propellors.