complete new guy

Reaction score
I am brand new to this forum. Forgive me for a possible bad question. I am just starting to wade throught the back-posts to educate myself more.

I am thinking of getting a P3 advanced. Right now I am only learning on a cheap ($150) quad. I have a lot of experience with small indoor blade helicopters and would like to make the switch. Learning is just going ok.
Im hoping the P3 would be more stable.

Since Im an old guy, and not very technical...I don't get the relationship with phones and ipads, and the P3. Especially when flying greater distances. Its a challenge for me to go to the park and even fly figure 8's at a distance of maybe 25 yards with my cheap model...I never really feel totally in control....a small stick error seems to lead to crashing or panic.

With the advanced quadracopters, is the pilot still stick -flying manually?
Seems like the potential for crashing expensive models is high especially the farther away they get... or the higher up

I think this vague question is mostly because I don't understand...not a problem with the product...
Am I right in learning on a small cheap model, or is that not helping?
mike

Reactions: daveleeds
The Phantom is very forgiving. Just take it slow. If you get stressed just let go of the sticks and it just sits there in the sky steady as a rock!
If you get lost hit the return to home button and it just comes back!
Forget trying to track it in the sky. Just look at the screen until it gets close then switch to the Mk1 eyeball.
It really is very easy and forgiving if you don't rush things. Remember height is an advantage. You only hiot things nearer the ground so vertical take off to a good height - same for landing!

Its easy to fly a P3 because you are relived of the throttle stick. If you don't touch it, P3 retains its height so you need to focus on one less variable. If you fly slowly, you will have enough reaction time to control it and get back full controls.