Compass Lock issues with P3S

Reaction score
Love the forum, thanks to all. I'm a new pilot and have found the discussions very helpful. I also love the DJI product overall. But I'm having trouble with my compass and it's making me afraid to be too adventurous with the P3.

Today, I flew on the beach in Florida. Calibrated the compass first thing, took off and did a very small test run - flew about 50 meters and got some nice sunrise shots. I landed it manually and when I tried to take off again, it showed a "compass locked" error and wouldn't let me take off again.

Can anyone tell me what I can do to avoid compass errors or should I send it to DJI for repairs?

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

I had this problem for the first time yesterday. Maybe it just is a problem for Stus?
Just kidding, I found other threads in this forum with folks having the same issue and no one seems to have a definitive answer. DJI chat was not helpful either. They told to me calibrate everything again and if the error keeps coming up to send it in. They did not seem to have any idea what the error is or what would cause it.
For me its a choice between sending back to DJI for repair or returning to the vendor(I have 10 days left for that option).
All thought after 3 restarts the standard fired up and flew with no apparent issues I'm not confident this won't happen in the air.

Reactions: StuDog
Well I called DJI today and the tech told me that they are having a lot of these issues and they are pushing a new firmware this week that should correct it. She insisted that they are rolling out 1.8.10.

Anyone else hear about a new firmware update?

Reactions: StuDog
We have heard the rumors about a FW update. As of today, nobody has it. There is a new DJI Go version for iOS.

@StuDog, @Stuh2o

Welcome to the Forum!

What firmware is currently installed on Phantom.

Rod