Compass calibration, course lock....

Reaction score
..I am still fairly new at the Phantom hobby. I admit I got a lot of my "training" from watching YouTube. I was under the impression that you were supposed to do the "dance" every time before flight, but always for sure after changing location. Now I read that that is just asking for a problem. What is the prevailing wisdom?

Also, maybe a dumb question, but here goes....Assuming the craft is in GPS lock and I then switch to IOC (course lock) is it still using the satellite,s for stable flight and finding home. What if I am using "return to home" function? (sw2 down)
The reason I ask is that my last crash was when I was using return to home in NAZA mode. As the craft approached within maybe 20 ft out and 10 ft high it suddenly did a "falling leaf" impression and damaged my gimble among other things. I have been afraid to use that mode since then, but have had no more problems while flying in GPS mode.

:D
Compass calibration is not needed before every flight. As a rule, if you change flight locations >30 miles, it is recommended to do a recalibration.

Yes, your bird uses GPS in IOC, Homelock, and RTH. The latest firmware update really slows down the decent rate, which should prevent some VRS occurance. I prefer to take back control in GPS Lock to land. Hand catching the bird and pulling the throttle all the way down will also prevent tip overs.

I hope this helps!

Hotrod said:
As the craft approached within maybe 20 ft out and 10 ft high it suddenly did a "falling leaf" impression and damaged my gimble among other things