Compass Calibrate

Why do you want to collect this data?

Reactions: yankee65
Every time. Besides I get to tell anyone near me to stick around for my lame calibration dance lol.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

I haven't calibrated for months but I've looked into lots of crash reports that start with "I calibrated before the flight like I always do".
And quite a few of them were caused by bad compass calibration.

Reactions: dirkclod
I am a noob at this and I will do it every time I fly.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have calibrated once and done 52 Flights. I have never messed with the factory IMU calibration.

Only calibrate after updates ore when I am flying at a new place a long way from home. Otherwise better leave whats good.

Only calibrate after updates ore when I am flying at a new place a long way from home. Otherwise better leave whats good.
Calibrate compass before flying at site once on that day.

I do it less and less the more I fly. I have always made sure I was in a area free of known causes for compass degradation, but I could never observe a benefit from doing them. I believe the phantom is smart enough to calculate where a phantom should be, given the compass heading and the predictability of a gps location. In other words, if you travel at a compass heading of 270, the phantom should be able to calculate you passing over point x on the map, if this fails to come true, then I would expect the phantom to view this as a compass error.

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app

We clearly have other opinions, Its really not nessesary to calibrate every time. Only when you're a hunderd ore more miles away from your last location. Only result is a probabel ****** of your already good calibrated compass with errors as a result. Ore worse.

Last edited:
I have about 50 flights I calibrate when I travel more than a couple hundred miles away.

Phantom 3 Pro / iPad Air 2