Close call flyaway

Reaction score
On 2/26/16 I decided to test out facebook live for the first time. I decided to take my mavic pro behind my house, over the woods and into a development behind me where my cousin lives. This is my first time taking it this far. This video starts after i made it over into the development to save time.

Before my flight i made sure to calibrate my compass, my imu's & before take off i set my homepoint and showed I had 18 satellites. I did fine until I got over my cousins house. I set my height at 300 feet. I stopped over my cousins house which was around 2,200 feet away from me. After looking down at him (he came outside and to see it), i panned around to get back in my direction so i could return home. It was then (at 2:11) when i started getting an error message that talked about possible obstructions which is odd because i had nothing around me.

I freaked & hit RTH but it did nothing. For the next several minutes all i could do is watch while it drifted to about 2300 feet away, then the next thing i know it started to drift higher and higher to around 900 feet! Then at around 2:50, it climbed to 1,000 feet. I have it capped at 400ft. so I'm not sure what happened here. Finally at 5:15 it started acting like it was going to return home, but then It backed up a couple times and rose even higher! It rose to over 1,100 feet!

After a couple times of canceling the RTH and doing it again, it finally worked around 7:57. After a nerve racking 10 minutes+, it finally landed with only 2 minutes to spare on the battery!!

Any idea how can i determine what went wrong?

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Please upload your TXT flight log here and post a link back here.

Reactions: Suhail78