Climbed way above max altitude

Joined
Aug 28, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Age
42
I took my Phantom 4 out for a little flight this morning. My preset max altitude is set for 120 meters. While ascending I noticed that my altitude reported on my iPad was over 500 feet. It was about that time I also lost connection with my P4. Tonight while looking at my recorded flight data on the DJI Go app I noticed it reported a total height of 604 feet. I thought the P4 was supposed to limit its ability to climb over the max altitude setting configured. Thoughts?

Craig
 
  • Like
Reactions: Neon Euc

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,685
Reaction score
10,661
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
If you upload your TXT flight log here and post a link back here, we can take a look and help you figure out what happened.
 
Last edited:

Meta4

Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
15,091
Reaction score
9,071
I took my Phantom 4 out for a little flight this morning. My preset max altitude is set for 120 meters. While ascending I noticed that my altitude reported on my iPad was over 500 feet. It was about that time I also lost connection with my P4. Tonight while looking at my recorded flight data on the DJI Go app I noticed it reported a total height of 604 feet. I thought the P4 was supposed to limit its ability to climb over the max altitude setting configured. Thoughts?
Looking at flight data for users that set a Max Altitude, you see Max Altitude Reached notifications and the Phantom doesn't go any higher.
To understand what's happening with yours, the first step would be to confirm what yours is set to.
Because the setting is stored in the Phantom, you'd have to have it connected to see what's there.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
1,626
Reaction score
418
Age
47
Looking at flight data for users that set a Max Altitude, you see Max Altitude Reached notifications and the Phantom doesn't go any higher.
To understand what's happening with yours, the first step would be to confirm what yours is set to.
Because the setting is stored in the Phantom, you'd have to have it connected to see what's there.
Agreed. The most obvious answer is usually the simplest. I bet it was accidently set to more than 120 meters.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
149
Reaction score
23
Age
30
I took my Phantom 4 out for a little flight this morning. My preset max altitude is set for 120 meters. While ascending I noticed that my altitude reported on my iPad was over 500 feet. It was about that time I also lost connection with my P4. Tonight while looking at my recorded flight data on the DJI Go app I noticed it reported a total height of 604 feet. I thought the P4 was supposed to limit its ability to climb over the max altitude setting configured. Thoughts?

Craig

You lost signal at only 500ft ?


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Age
42
Yeah I lost signal at 500 feet. Now I was 500 feet vertically above me with very little horizontal distance. Also how do I go about getting those files to upload? I am a believer that most things can be equated to user error. So if I am doing something wrong I need to learn how to correct it.
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,685
Reaction score
10,661
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
You'll find instructions at my link above.
 

BigAl07

Administrator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
7,043
Reaction score
5,903
Age
51
Location
Western North Carolina
For whatever reason you lost connection to the aircraft (Downlink) during the transition from 300.9' to 443' AGL. I would have thought she would have stopped around 398 or so if you had 120M set ast MAX altitude. Keep in mind that's on the aircraft side so it should have stopped even though it wasn't connected to the Tx during that brief period of time.

Have you gone back into the ap and checked to make sure it's set at 120M?
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Age
42
For whatever reason you lost connection to the aircraft (Downlink) during the transition from 300.9' to 443' AGL. I would have thought she would have stopped around 398 or so if you had 120M set ast MAX altitude. Keep in mind that's on the aircraft side so it should have stopped even though it wasn't connected to the Tx during that brief period of time.

Have you gone back into the ap and checked to make sure it's set at 120M?

Yeah I did go back and confirm that the max altitude set is 120M. Just a little disconcerting. I personally see no reason on flying above 400 feet and I do want to fly legal. If I had control of the Phantom I would have never let it climb above 400 feet.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RoyVa
Joined
Jun 14, 2016
Messages
1,745
Reaction score
793
Age
63
When you checked the max altitude setting, was your bird on and connected to the RC? My app always shows 120m if it's not connected to the bird. Once it's connected, it shows 190m (I have it set there so I can fly at 400 ft AGL over a 160ft hill).
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,685
Reaction score
10,661
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
f16falcon6, according to your flight log, your Phantom never hit the max altitude. Like Pharm noted above, you'll need to ensure your Phantom is connected to DJI GO when verifying/setting that setting.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Age
42
So I did check the setting with my P4 powered on and connected to the DJI Go app and it was and is set to 120M.
 

Attachments

  • 120.PNG
    120.PNG
    2.8 MB · Views: 409
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
57
Reaction score
8
Age
61
I do not think it will allow you to set it higher than 120 meters. When originally setting my bird up I switched over to imperial from metric and was trying to put 400 in the box and it would not let me. That part of the app stays in metric, and it would not let me set it higher than 120.
captain kush
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
6,239
Reaction score
2,883
Location
Yorba Linda, CA
I suggest to reduce max height to 100m and see if it stops at that level. Don't fly directly above yourself, that's taboo. Take it out away from you 500' to test the max height limit.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Age
42
I suggest to reduce max height to 100m and see if it stops at that level. Don't fly directly above yourself, that's taboo. Take it out away from you 500' to test the max height limit.
I will try and set it to a lower altitude and do another IMU calibration and fly it this evening. Will get back to you guys with my results. Thanks for all the suggestions.
 

Recent Posts

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
142,066
Messages
1,460,420
Members
103,848
Latest member
Lambda