Choppy descent

Reaction score
Newbie here and although I have had to guess at a lot of things not finding easy info it's coming along pretty well I think. Only 3 days of flying so far.

One thing though that seems to be a recurring problem is that although this thing flies great overall, when I go fairly high and then start to descend it bounces around a lot. I suspect perhaps I am descending faster than I should be for a smooth descent? Maybe that is just how they are? I sometimes start to panic slightly when it's up there because it's hard to tell if it's actually descending or not, sometimes appears to be drifting (although it hasn't really to any extent) and sometimes orientation is hard to determine.

I am flying a Phantom 1.1 with a generic camera that doesn't fit any mounts so I had to makeshift rig it to my anti-jello mount.

I would perhaps like to get a gimbal one of these days but don't enjoy the tinkering and it looks like a lot of them require opening up the unit, soldering, etc. I know how to do all that an am pretty mechanical (had a soldering gun when I was about 10), I just hate it and have no patience. Is there a gimbal that is easier to install? I don't even care if I can't control it from the ground, just want a smoother ride.

I did shoot a half decent video (considering) but edited out any descents.

Cheap gimbals only use a 12v+ a negative and if you want it a pitch control line. The power feeding is often from the balance plug. So, you'll only need to open up the phantom if you want the pitch control (no soldering). Everything else is plug and play. I don't know how more expensive gimbals are connected. Your viewing angle will be perfectly horizontal and only can be changed in de gimbal software settings before flight

Choppy descent... Don't really know how to help you there. Search for Vortex ring state on youtube. I don't think its similar to your problems as the drone basically crashes. Did you do all the calibrations?