Charging Phantom 2 battery with Phantom 3 charger?

Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
20
Location
Worksop, England
Hi, I'm just wondering if anyone can help me in the fact that I'd like to know if you're able to charge the P2 with a P3 charger? Would it have any after effects with the battery?
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
20
Location
Worksop, England
Okay, thank you for your reply... Just that I did charge it and for some reason on the battery that I charged with the P3 charger, for some reason when in flight my drone limits itself to a low height, and when I want to give it power sometimes, It just descends from the sky, it's confusing me like mad, I'm going to try and completely discharge the battery and charge it with the P2 charger, see if that resolves the issue.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2014
Messages
5,136
Reaction score
572
Location
Commerce Twp,MI
Okay, thank you for your reply... Just that I did charge it and for some reason on the battery that I charged with the P3 charger, for some reason when in flight my drone limits itself to a low height, and when I want to give it power sometimes, It just descends from the sky, it's confusing me like mad, I'm going to try and completely discharge the battery and charge it with the P2 charger, see if that resolves the issue.
Some like playing with fire.
 

N017RW

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
8,961
Reaction score
3,241
Location
Palm Beach Co.- FL
First, It seems doubtful that you charged a P2 batt. on a P3 charger due to the mentioned difference(s) in the interfaces.
The P2 batt. uses a 3S2P cell configuration and the P3 uses a 4S cell configuration.

You would have likely caused a fire if you were somehow able to 'mash-up' the P2 batt on a P3 charger.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
20
Location
Worksop, England
Oh right? But being 100% honest, I did charge the P2 with the P3 charger, and it charged it, unless what I have isn't the P3 charger, but the one I think is the P3 charger has different outputs to the Phantom 2 charger
 

N017RW

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
8,961
Reaction score
3,241
Location
Palm Beach Co.- FL
Yea. You should gather the facts before clinging to a near certain impossibility.
 

N017RW

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
8,961
Reaction score
3,241
Location
Palm Beach Co.- FL
Is this enough for you to tell me which one is which?

Yes, the top one is for the P2.

Notice the output specification is 12.6 volts.

The bottom one's output is 17.4 volts, for the P3.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
20
Location
Worksop, England
Yes, the top one is for the P2.

Notice the output specification is 12.6 volts.

The bottom one's output is 17.4 volts, for the P3.
As I thought... So how the hell did I manage to charge the P2 with the P3 charger, when you said it wasn't possible... Confused to hell now
 

N017RW

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
8,961
Reaction score
3,241
Location
Palm Beach Co.- FL
Why don't you try now that you know which is which?
 

N017RW

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
8,961
Reaction score
3,241
Location
Palm Beach Co.- FL
No worries. But we are done with this as you cannot connect the wrong charger.
 

N017RW

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
8,961
Reaction score
3,241
Location
Palm Beach Co.- FL
Okay, you seem pissed off for some reason? But thanks anyway, have a good day/night, wherever you are in the world
No, NOT pissed. Text messages are poor for context.
I know it's not possible or there would be all kinds of stories about batteries (and homes/workshops) being damaged by improper charging.

I'm in USA BTW.

Happy holidays to you too. ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: leightonh1999
Joined
Oct 12, 2014
Messages
5,136
Reaction score
572
Location
Commerce Twp,MI
  • Like
Reactions: leightonh1999
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
1,982
Reaction score
343
Age
49
Location
Manchester UK
The width of the p3 charger won't allow you to plug it into a P2 battery (i just tried ) it's smaller by about 3mm or so. But ( I haven't tried) you could plug a P2 charger into a p3 battery.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
20
Location
Worksop, England
Another question, can a phantom lose power when it's at a cold temperature, just that it randomly started automatically descending with my "good battery" last night, as in when I tried to give it full power, it limited itself to a certain height and then started coming down at a reasonable speed until it finally managed to get the power it needed... It's cold at night in the UK now, so I'm wondering if that could be the problem
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,671
Messages
1,413,292
Members
99,354
Latest member
rkmobile