Charge both Battery and Controller at the same time?

Reaction score
Since I am brand new to this, I want to learn, learn, learn.

Can I charge both the battery and the controller at the same time with the same charger?

Thanks in advance!

Denny

As I understand it... Using the charger that comes with your DJI bird... you should only charge one battery at a time or the RC by itself. If you have a multi-battery charging station, then you can charge the batteries at the same time.

Oddly, when I plugin the multi charger and a remote into a single power adapter (the stock one which comes with the P4P), both indicate they are charging (via the blinking battery gauge on one of the batteries and the remote respectively). They seemed to both be charging, though I did not perform a scientific control to determine the length of charge time or to determine if they were charging sequentially or in parallel.

However, due to the above, I bought a second charger to be safe. I have the multi charger on one (love that thing, BTW), and the remote on a second.

DJI do actually say it works but they also say they don't recommend it. I have charged both at the same time lots of times with no problems.

Reactions: BenStein
Hi flittermonkey, you need to read read read the manual manual manual..;);):rolleyes:
There is nothing in the manual saying not to charge them at the same time. The only place I've seen anything about this is the FAQ's on DJI's web site.

BTW, check the Phantom 3 battery manual, it says not to in that manual, then check the Phantom 4 battery manual, the warning not to do this was removed.

I just read through the v1.2 manual for the P4P (published Jan 2017) and the same holds true. It says the charger produces 100 watts. It does not show both charging at the same time, but does not advise against it in any way.