Cell Service on phone/tablet

Reaction score
My Phantom (P3A) arrives today! Now that that is out of the way, I have a question about phones and/or tablets. I'm a bit confused. I plan on using my iPhone 6s plus. My understanding is that the phone is just the user interface to the controller, and gets the signal via a USB cable to the phone. I also understand that most put the phone on airplane mode ( they should make an upgrade and call it a quad copter mode!) while flying.

Then I read a lot of posts and see that many recommend a tablet that has cell service on it such as an iPad. Is it necessary to have cellular on the device? Some also state the need for having GPS on the device. Is this for displaying the map?

It seems to me that any tablet that can run the Go app (or whatever app you choose) should suffice instead of having the need for GPS and cellular service on it. But, I'm a noob so I turn to you good people for an answer.

PH

My Phantom (P3A) arrives today! Now that that is out of the way, I have a question about phones and/or tablets. I'm a bit confused. I plan on using my iPhone 6s plus. My understanding is that the phone is just the user interface to the controller, and gets the signal via a USB cable to the phone. I also understand that most put the phone on airplane mode ( they should make an upgrade and call it a quad copter mode!) while flying.

Then I read a lot of posts and see that many recommend a tablet that has cell service on it such as an iPad. Is it necessary to have cellular on the device? Some also state the need for having GPS on the device. Is this for displaying the map?

It seems to me that any tablet that can run the Go app (or whatever app you choose) should suffice instead of having the need for GPS and cellular service on it. But, I'm a noob so I turn to you good people for an answer.

PH