Can't install firmware update ; Blank screen on Overall Status

Reaction score
I am just getting started with P3 Standard out of the box. My understanding is that a firm ware update is needed probably for controller, aircraft and battery. According to what I have read on forums this must be done through DJI GO. I have loaded it onto my iPhone 5S. I think I have established WIfi Connection with the controller and aircraft using the Phantom 3 wifi in my iPhone settings on wifi, though of course if I turn on my home wifi on the phone the DJI GO app says that the aircraft is disconnected.,

When I open DJI GO and tap on the status bar at the upper left it takes me to Aircraft Status which says Firmware Updgrade Required. When I tap on that all I get is a black blank screen entitled Overall Status. 1. How do I start the firmware download? 2. Should the iPhone be connected to my home wifi or should I set it to be connected to the aircraft? 3. Should both the controller and aircraft be powered on?

I'm probably not even asking all the right questions. Help! Hopelessly confused!

Are you registered with dji? Username, password? If so, if you type in firmware upgrade for the standard in the search engine at the top of the forum page, look for msinger's step by step guide on how to instal it and follow it exactly. The phantom wifi in your settings needs to be selected and nothing else in the background running.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Are you registered with dji? Username, password? If so, if you type in firmware upgrade for the standard in the search engine at the top of the forum page, look for msinger's step by step guide on how to instal it and follow it exactly. The phantom wifi in your settings needs to be selected and nothing else in the background running.