Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

can phantom firmware be rolled back successfuly?

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by pencilcoil, Aug 14, 2014.

  1. pencilcoil

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    9
    I want to roll back my firmware to try and get back full FPV quality that others claim to have with much earlier versions of the android app & assistant software. Can this be done without causing problems? Any experience of doing this would be appreciated. I am currently running the very latest app and assistant software.
     
  2. isopro

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    138
    I did roll back Ios ipod software to 1.0.32 without any problems, did roll back camera to 1.1.18, no problem but noticed it was creating more heat at fan output then other more recent versions, did'nt test rolling back from 3.0.6 yet, just installed it to test ground station features couple days ago.
     
  3. pencilcoil

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    9
    But what about the phantom own main core firmware?
     
  4. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    East Texas
    Yes, just download the version you want to downgrade to, and get the phone app that worked best with it. DJI states that reverting to earlier revisions may not be done cleanly, they make no assurances.
    However, no one has complained or stated that there has been any issues in doing so.
    I went back to 1.08 from 3.0, without issues.

    Gunslinger keeps older revisions of firmware on his site: http://www.droneslinger.com/software.htm
     
  5. GerdS

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, lake of Konstanz
    But 1.08 is the only firmware version you can downgrade to. No chance e.g. to downgrade to version 2.0 which was quite good.

    Regards, Gerd
     
  6. ProfessorStein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Curious why that would be?
     
  7. GerdS

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, lake of Konstanz
    Only DJI can answer that, maybe they have deleted the 2.0 firmware from their server and so the PCsoftware won't find it anymore.

    Regards, Gerd
     
  8. AndySwe

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gothenburg/Sweden
    Thank god that I ve stayed on ver. 2.0
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - phantom firmware rolled Forum Date
Phantom 4 pro gimbal buzzes after newest firmware update Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Wednesday at 9:49 AM
Phantom 3 pro controller no firmware Pro/Adv Discussion Jan 7, 2018
Updating Firmware on Phantom 4 Phantom 4 Discussion Dec 27, 2017
Phantom 3 SE Firmware Update Issue Phantom SE Dec 16, 2017
Flash Adv firmware to Pro Phantom Pro/Adv Discussion Dec 14, 2017