Can I mark a POI without flying over it?

Reaction score
I would like to take a video of my town's Stephens Performing Arts Center (see photo I just posted in the Photos & Videos forum), going around it in a perfect circle. However, I'm a bit shy about flying directly over its dome, which has a lot of glass on its surface. Can I mark a POI without flying over it? For example, could I mark a point nearby, then move it on the iPad's touchscreen? Thanks!

Not with the DJI Go app but there are other apps which will let you do it.

Thank you! Which application should I try, then? Also, I am an EE/CS professor, and it should be fun to write my own application program for flying my Phantom 3. However, I have never programmed an iPad application, nor have I interfaced with a Phantom 3. Know of a good tutorial?

You tube is full of the Phantom videos. Good source of info. Do a search on Phantom 3 POI and you will get a listing. Enjoy!

Reactions: Mo of Pocatello
I found the Android one. Maybe it'll work with my phone, which is a Galaxy S4. However, when I tried DJI GO with that phone it was terrible. Oh well, I'll try out the software one way or another when I get some time to fly. Thanks again.

I'm on a Mac right now, and don't have the iPad with me. So I looked in iTunes for Litchi, and it seems that the only thing it does is Follow-Me.

I would like to take a video of my town's Stephens Performing Arts Center (see photo I just posted in the Photos & Videos forum), going around it in a perfect circle. However, I'm a bit shy about flying directly over its dome, which has a lot of glass on its surface. Can I mark a POI without flying over it? For example, could I mark a point nearby, then move it on the iPad's touchscreen? Thanks!