Can I fly Phantom 4 in Cold winter weather?

Reaction score
Hi All:

I just purchased a Phantom 4 for my forthcoming trip in December/January to Iceland and Scandinavia. I have a few questions/concerns:
  1. The temperature in Iceland and Scandinavia end of December 2016/early January 2017 is supposed to be 20F. Can I safely fly the P4 in these weather conditions?
  2. Rain/snow is forecast when I am there. Is it safe to fly if it is snowing or raining?
  3. The P4 camera is rated for 32F - will the camera be OK if I fly it in 20F weather?
  4. Can I use the DJI GO app on my iPhone 6 Plus to control the P4, instead of the P4 RC as it is too big to be user friendly?
Any other flying/shooting tips for my trip would be very useful. FYI, this is my first drone and I have no experience in flying!

Thanks much!
Amar

The temperature in Iceland and Scandinavia end of December 2016/early January 2017 is supposed to be 20F. Can I safely fly the P4 in these weather conditions?
You shouldn't have a problem if you keep the batteries warm prior to flying. Expect shorter flight times though.

Rain/snow is forecast when I am there. Is it safe to fly if it is snowing or raining?
No.

The P4 camera is rated for 32F - will the camera be OK if I fly it in 20F weather?
Yes.

Can I use the DJI GO app on my iPhone 6 Plus to control the P4, instead of the P4 RC as it is too big to be user friendly?
No.

Any other flying/shooting tips for my trip would be very useful.
You can find some helpful cold weather flying tips here, here, and here.

Reactions: Alba52
Here's my list of tips:

Make sure you check the local regulations for drone flying in the countries you plan to fly in. You might want to get a drone vinyl wrap that's a dark color so you can see it better if you plan to fly in areas with snow on the ground. With the drone being white, that may hinder things.