Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Broken off S2 switch, arrrgggghhhh

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Stuart Bishop, Oct 9, 2016.

  1. Stuart Bishop

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hi,

    Foolishly dropped my RC in the kitchen today and it landed on the S2 switch and that's come off along with a little black spring. There didn't appear to be any other bits, can this just be screwed in? I've tried a few times but not sure if it can or not. Help appreciated?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,595
    Likes Received:
    7,757
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    That switch can be replaced (see this post). I haven't replaced it myself, but I know you'll have to open the remote controller to do so.
     
  3. Philltayl

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK

    No, that can't be screwed in. You will have to replace the switch. Should be a simple job.
     
  4. Stuart Bishop

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    15
    Bummer, not a very good DIY'er, can't say I'be ever used it so might just live without. Cheers
     
  5. Philltayl

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK

    On the P3S it is used to initiate a RTH...not sure what the RC will do if it is not there?????????
     
  6. mcajr37

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    Radio shack has similar 3 position toggle switches. Not exact match but they do fit and work with the controler

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G530A using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. mcajr37

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
  8. Don Dan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here. Only mine was a three-year old. No Radio Shack in my country. Do anyone know a good one on eBay?
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,595
    Likes Received:
    7,757
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    This eBay seller ships that part worldwide.
     
  10. Don Dan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. Matts175

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    1,247
    Likes Received:
    552
    Location:
    Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA
    Since you say that you are not a very good DIYer, If I was in that situation, I'd buy the switch that msinger posted..... then take the switch and transmitter up to an electronics repair shop. They should be able to solder that in for you, no problem. It shouldn't cost more than $15 to $20 for the job (not sure what that is in UK money). A skilled electronics repair person should be able to do that whole job in 20 minutes. If you lived here in 'Merica.... I'd do it for free for you.
     
  12. 120CCPM

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'd suggest to replace it, but if you don't, just remember that in case DJI GO crashes on you and you need to bring back the AC via RTH, you need to turn off the transmitter.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Broken off switch Forum Date
S1 switch broken off General Discussion Jul 21, 2014
Phantom 4 Fly Off and Broken Remote Phantom 4 Help Jul 6, 2016
Antenna on RC broken off Standard/4k Discussion Jan 21, 2016
Professional Small broken piece off my phantom Phantom 3 Help Oct 8, 2015
Camera/Gimbal off, ribbon broken - fix? General Discussion May 17, 2015