Brand new to the forum

Reaction score
Hi. A newbie here and retired old professional pilot and veteran. I would like to thank all of you for the wonderful info I have found here. Very helpful. My son's company has this drone (P2V+) that was crashed twice. They are a land development company. They have bought a second one and my son wanted me to look at the wreck since they are not drone people. It was bad. The second "repair" was stopped after the could not get it running. It had a whole new body. One motor and ESC had been replaced. X-axis camera gimbal broken. When powered up, camera did the "crazy dance". Three of the props shattered, one intact but hub nut missing. The last pilot said the motor stopped and prop flew off. Internal inspection revealed both square internal antennae were dislodged (they were affixed with scotch tape, probably when doing the body swap).

After reading the literature as you all recommend and watching some great you tube videos I felt ready to tackle this. I started with the camera and gimbal. A $700 dollar replacement did not warrant repair of the drone, so after a pin drop of JB weld and indexing the shaft to level, I clamped it all together. Thankfully, the ribbon was intact. In the meantime, I charged all the batteries and downloaded the DJI app to my iPhone. The next day I powered it up and camera stabilized. Yes! I linked the iPhone and, yes!...got a picture and could control camera tilt!