brand new 'out of the box' phantom won't start

Reaction score
hello from costa rica!! i'm a new member and i want to thank you in advance for taking the time to read this.

i just received my second phantom unit, so i am reasonably knowledgeable about the inner workings of DJI and its Phantom model.

a friend brought me a brand new phantom which i purchased from b&h photo in new york.

i assembled it in two minutes (i told you i have some knowledge)

when i tried to turn it on however: nothing.

i took it outside and toggled the control mode switch ten times to do a GPS calibration. The light on the phantom turned to solid yellow which indicates to me that there is some communication between the transmitter and the phantom.

still, i decided to open the case to link the transmitter and the receiver. the receiver control board appeared normal when i opened it up, still i decided to do the linking procedure again and the linking procedure appeared to work. the led light is solid red when the transmitter is turned off and it led light turns off when the transmitter is turned on. again that indicates that there may be some communication between the two.

so my question is.... what is it? why isn't my phantom starting? anyone faced a similar issue and can suggest what it might be? remember this thing has never flown! it's so frustrating because i live thousands of miles away and can't just return it and get a new one.

help!

can you point me in the right direction as to how to get that procedure started?
i have removed the shell and the landing legs on my phantom, do i need to put it back together before doing that or can i just plug it in 'as is'?

BadWolf said:
Looks like you need to calibrate the transmitter in the Naza assistant. The joysticks look to be out of calibration.

You should be able to do it without putting the legs back on. As long as it is level, on a table or something.