Better mini sd card info needed

Reaction score
Hello guys. I've got a question about replacing the original mini sd card for a better one. Please bare with me as I'm new to flying?
I got myself a p3p a couple of days ago. I've got everything sitting ready to go, batteries all charged, recent firmware on the receiver, drone and batteries updated. Then I discovered I should update my sd card to a better one so I went out and bought a Sandisc 32gb extreme plus card.
Do I now have to download the same firmware onto the new card and use or can the card be inserted straight from the box to the drone and I'm good to go?

No need to download the firmware again..just put the new card in, and format it using camera tools in the app. (Not essential, but advisable).

(The only time you might need to download the firmware again, is if you buy any more batteries which need updating).

Reactions: xdeanox
No need to download the firmware again..just put the new card in, and format it using camera tools in the app. (Not essential, but advisable).

(The only time you might need to download the firmware again, is if you buy any more batteries which need updating).
Thanks rockydog. It's very much appreciated.

I've got a question about replacing the original mini sd card for a better one.
... Then I discovered I should update my sd card to a better one
With SD cards for the Phantom, there are cards that work and cards that don't but there aren't better cards.
A bigger/faster/more expensive card won't do anything better or faster than the supplied card which is of quite high quality anyway.
Writing image files will only happen as fast as the camera writes regardless of your card.

With SD cards for the Phantom, there are cards that work and cards that don't but there aren't better cards.
A bigger/faster/more expensive card won't do anything better or faster than the supplied card which is of quite high quality anyway.