Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Battery swap question

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by maddingomike, Mar 12, 2016.

  1. maddingomike

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    East Northport, NY
    Hi,

    I was wondering if I was to fly my P3A to a long distance where there wasn't enough battery to return, would I be able to land it at that point and have someone swap in a new battery for the return home? I'm not sure if the remote would reconnect at that distance. Just curious.

    Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,628
    Likes Received:
    7,776
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    It will work as long as your remote controller is connected to your Phantom. That means the path between you and your Phantom must be clear of all obstacles when your Phantom is on the ground.
     
  3. fpalermo

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your Phantom and remote are paired, so I would think that it would reconnect, as long as you had a good signal when you land. Not completely sure, though. I don't see how it's any different than it connecting from 10 feet away or 100 feet away.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6,523
    Likes Received:
    2,149
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Technically you can land at a far place and some one can replace the battery. You can restart P3 if it is in LOS, means your RC can see P3.

    In reality this gets difficult due to ground obstructions unless you can establish the line of sight.
     
  5. Raanan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    I wanted to send my p3p to a spot nearby, 280 meters above home point.
    Then swap battery, that means power down, and take off. All within line of sight. However I suspect that turning on the P3P after swapping batt will not allow me to get to my position 280 m lower due to -200 m limit.
    Is that so? I suspect that it is
     
  6. Zerone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    S.Wales, UK
    There is'nt a -200M altitude limit. Check the video in the following thread.

    Take off + land at different altitudes?
     
    Raanan likes this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - Battery swap question Forum Date
Should I swap this battery? Pro/Adv Discussion Jan 28, 2016
Swapping a dead battery? Pro/Adv Discussion May 1, 2015
Automatic Battery Swap General Discussion Dec 17, 2014
Landing Pad With Autonomous Battery Swap? General Discussion Dec 16, 2014
Battery Swap Process? Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion Jul 26, 2014