Battery Life

Reaction score
Greetings! I am new to the Phantom 2 and loving it so far! I have flown it a dozen or so times and have a question on battery life. I am only getting about 11 min per flight (half of what it is supposed to get!!!) The only add ons are the zenmuse and gopro and the transmitter. ANy ideas on how to make the battery last longer?

Thanks!

Monday I did my first timed flight and got 14 min loaded with gimbal, camera, OSD mini and AVL58. I think depending on your style of flying you might not be far off.

11 is pretty short. I almost always get the first battery warning right at 15 minutes. Then I can go for another 2 - 3 minutes, bring it in to hover for a while and shut down at around 18% battery. This is with the Futaba receiver, Zenmuse, GoPro, Fatshark 250mW and iOSD.

Cop a feel on your motors when you shut down. If any of them are significantly warmer than the others, you may have a motor issue.

Just flew again. 11:44 from take off until I shot the camera off. Took about 4 min to acquire satellites. All the motors were barely warm when I shut it down. Regardless of the flight time, this thing is FUN! :D

I'm getting about the same as Ian. 14-15 mins before I get the warning LEDs. I'm carrying Futaba R2008SB Receiver, Zenmuse, GoPro, IOSD Mini, ImmersionRC vTX and Flytrex Core. It's up to it's max all up weight a few grams under 1300.

It could be flying style. If you fly everywhere full stick it will use more juice.

I rarely fly full stick. When I can afford a new battery I am going to see if that is the issue. :p

I get between 12-14 minutes and I usually fly pretty fast and hard, full fpv setup with GoPro.

My Vision used to get a solid 23-25 minutes, that's the only thing I miss about it.

I have 4 batteries and they all get the same time. I don't fly past 25% though as I've noticed with the extra weight it can lose power at any second.

Jax Quad said: