Battery charges

Droneted

Phantom 4 gimbal repair advice
Premium Pilot
Reaction score
Hey guys, I was wondering what you consider to be a lot of charges on a battery? 20? 50? ??
I have a hi cap battery (2nd hand) with 33 charges. I have never given this much thought. I don't fly much for physical reasons and I have collected a bunch of batteries. How long will they last just sitting on the shelf?

How long will they last just sitting on the shelf?
It remains to be seen how long they will actually last when cared for properly (since the P4 is still fairly new). I also have a lot of batteries and found they are storing well when I keep them in storage like this.

Thanks, I don't get to fly much and my batteries sit around too much I believe. I am a disabled Veteran from the VN conflict. I know that ages me but it is what it is. I started flying "U" controlled balsa wood planes back in the 50's. We stood in one spot and flew around and around. Built our own planes out of wood and glue. We put an 049 on it and most of the time they flew. I remember one beast I made that I put 2 "049" s on. It went up in a blaze. I was a kid and just flew it flames and all. We were poor so I couldn't get a radio controlled plane when they came out. At that point I had pretty much grown up. At least the Army thought I was an adult. They tossed me into a war and I didn't get back to flying until about 5 years ago. This has pretty much changed my life. I can't fly "U" control anymore but I can manage a quad.

Reactions: awinn17
Through my research (wandering about aimlessly through the youtube drone posts, forums and anything that that is drone related in my quest to get better at flying / photo & video editing / managing my drone I saw somewhere that you can expect to get around 200 charges out of the new high capacity batteries before they will no longer be safe to fly with.