Balancing Props - Which do you do first- blade or hub?

Reaction score
I'm wanting to balance my propellors however, I don't know if I should balance the blades first or the hubs? From what I have seen online, they both may need to be done?

I'm wanting to balance my propellors however, I don't know if I should balance the blades first or the hubs? From what I have seen online, they both may need to be done?
I'm no expert but the blades would have the most influence of the balance. I don't see how you could balance the hub first. It would be the least out of balance.

Reactions: Slackware
any hu
I'm no expert but the blades would have the most influence of the balance. I don't see how you could balance the hub first. It would be the least out of balance.
Any hub so out of balance needing to be done first you could see with your eye just looking at it.

Last edited:
Thanks alokbhargava, I don't have any problems balancing the blades however, when balancing the hubs I have to use a considerable amount of tape. Which leads me to believe I may be better off to sand the opposite side of the hub and eliminate the tape?

As a long time model aircraft hobbyist, I'd suggest that balancing the blades with a good balancing rig, like the DuBro is fine. If the hub is out of balance enough to be a concern, the overall blade is probably out of spec. Given the relatively low blade prices, I'd just try another blade...

As a long time model aircraft hobbyist, I'd suggest that balancing the blades with a good balancing rig, like the DuBro is fine. If the hub is out of balance enough to be a concern, the overall blade is probably out of spec. Given the relatively low blade prices, I'd just try another blade...

Are the du bro use to balance p4 blades? What is the best way to find out if the blades need balancing prior to purchasing the balancer? Thanks

U.K. London Side pushing the Phantom 4. Peace

Reactions: crash1sttime
Are the du bro use to balance p4 blades?