Balancing Props - Required or Optional

Reaction score
First, great to find this forum. I'm a complete and utter newb with Quads or anything that flys really, and getting into the groove with my new Phantom 2 Vision Plus has proven to be highly frustrating so far. Still working the bugs out of my replacement (the first one took off on it's own during initial tests and met with a tree).

I have been testing my investment and even with prop guards and the carbon fiber bottom plate to protect the gimble and cam, I have managed to destroy a set of blades first day out.

I have not balanced my props... don't have the stuff to even try. But my question is, do you balance props because you're trying to optimize your journey (high performance quad user) OR.... do you balance your props because it's absolutely necessary ?

Thanks for the opinion.

Cheers
rcohen

rcohen said:
First, great to find this forum. I'm a complete and utter newb with Quads or anything that flys really, and getting into the groove with my new Phantom 2 Vision Plus has proven to be highly frustrating so far. Still working the bugs out of my replacement (the first one took off on it's own during initial tests and met with a tree).

I have been testing my investment and even with prop guards and the carbon fiber bottom plate to protect the gimble and cam, I have managed to destroy a set of blades first day out.

I have not balanced my props... don't have the stuff to even try. But my question is, do you balance props because you're trying to optimize your journey (high performance quad user) OR.... do you balance your props because it's absolutely necessary ?

Thanks for the opinion.

Cheers
rcohen

Just put them on and go.