Bad Elf GPS for Lightning Connector ????

Reaction score
I ordered a Ipad 4 Mini WiFi without Cellular. I'm thinking about buying the
Bad Elf GPS for Lightning Connector

Amazon.com: Bad Elf GPS for Lightning Connector: GPS & Navigation

Question I have.....If I wanted to use this in my vehicle with the I Pad mini as a simple GPS device, could I use a lightning extension cord to mount the GPS unit on the dash board where it will afford better reception?

Is this a good choice to add GPS to the Ipad mini and work well with the P3 Advanced?

Thanks

Sorry for all the questions. Just starting out and learning a ton from you folks!

Yes you could use lightening extension cord.

Once you use lightening port with GPS, it won't be available for connection to RC.

"Once you use lightening port with GPS, it won't be available for connection to RC."

Hmmmm... I'd not thought about this! And there is no work around? No "Lightning "Y" Adapter" ? I'm relatively new to the Lightning Port.

I ordered a Ipad 4 Mini WiFi without Cellular. I'm thinking about buying the
Bad Elf GPS for Lightning Connector

Amazon.com: Bad Elf GPS for Lightning Connector: GPS & Navigation

Question I have.....If I wanted to use this in my vehicle with the I Pad mini as a simple GPS device, could I use a lightning extension cord to mount the GPS unit on the dash board where it will afford better reception?

Is this a good choice to add GPS to the Ipad mini and work well with the P3 Advanced?

Thanks

Sorry for all the questions. Just starting out and learning a ton from you folks!
Yes, using external bluetooth GPS devices work well. Most often mentioned in this forum are the Bad Elf, Dual, and Garmin GLO.

Problem with external GPS devices is that

1. They should be placed at a location which is open to sky.

2. You can't easily move with the device with RC on one hand. It's not car that you mount it on dash and it moves with you.

3. Need one more power supply.

Why not just get a cellular iPad?