Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

ATTENTION - There Are Now 2 P3 Areas, P3A/P and P3S/4K

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by LuvMyTJ, Aug 24, 2015.

  1. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    7,981
    Likes Received:
    4,993
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    There are now 2 P3 areas. One for P3 Advanced & Professional and one for P3 Standard and the P3-4K
    Be sure to post in the correct location.
    Thanks. ;)
     
    #1 LuvMyTJ, Aug 24, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2016
  2. Jack Hurlbut

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
  3. Danny Rauton

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    What is the main difference in the Phantom 3 and 3 4k?
     
  4. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    7,981
    Likes Received:
    4,993
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    It is a pleasure to welcome you to the Phantom Pilots forum Danny. I hope that you will take advantage of the benefits that come with membership and that you will be able to use the forum for the exchange of innovative ideas and as a resource for current developments in Phantom quadcopter’s.

    The P3 Standard (2.7K) & the P3 4K use standard wifi control, the P3 Advanced & Pro models use an advanced form of wifi called LightBridge which is has longer range than the standard wifi. They are all good machines. I would suggest a P3S or P3 4K for someone new to the hobby. I saw a recent eBay sale on brand new 4K models for $500 which is an excellent deal. The 4K also has a better controller, more options.

    Check here for the differences - Compare the Phantom Series | DJI
     
  5. Danny Rauton

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    What is the best pilot app to use?
     
  6. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    7,981
    Likes Received:
    4,993
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Stick with the DJI Go App as that is the original. After you are confident in flying and know your machine well, if and when you find the need for more options then check out some of the other options.
     
  7. Danny Rauton

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks TJ, What are some options just wanna check them out?
     
  8. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    7,981
    Likes Received:
    4,993
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I use iOS on Apple but I assume it is basically the same for Android devices. Do a search in the store for DJI and see what comes up. Litchi, AutoPilot, Altizure. Pix4D, DronePan, Vertical all come to mind but there are others I am sure. They build off a software developers kit made available by DJI.
     
  9. Danny Rauton

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah I saw that kit as well, thank you for the info TJ.
     
  10. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes I have the 4k . Trying to locate a gimbal cable. Not sure if it is the same as Adv/Pro. My cable has a part number PO1107.09 and if I am not mistaken the Adv/Pro is PO1107.08. Not sure what the difference is yet.
     
  11. Jimmyjames

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    I bought a P3 4K and I have an iPad monitor. I had so much trouble trying to solve the connection problem. I, finally, found a USB adapter that works, Don't like it, but why isn't there a cable available? It came out of the box with ill fitting USB connections. The cable has a standard size USB plug
    and the controller has a small USB socket
     
  12. Jimmyjames

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    It is me, again. I have since learned that my P3 4K does not use a connecting line. It uses wi-fi. If I had read all of the quick start instructions, I would not have made this dumb statement...
     
    wmclements2003 likes this.
  13. phantom3intennessee

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    9
    I can’t seem to find the P3S area when using the app on the iPhone 6s, it just says P3
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - ATTENTION Areas P3A Forum Date
ATTENTION - There Are Now 2 P3 Areas, P3A/P and P3S/4K Pro/Adv Discussion Aug 24, 2015
How much attention do you get while flying? Off Topic Jul 7, 2017
ATTENTION! DJI GO 3.1.0 Buggy Firmware! Phantom 4 Discussion Nov 20, 2016
Attention, Hobby Flyers: Come Monday Some Of You May Need An FAA Drone Pilot Certificate. General Discussion Aug 24, 2016
Attention to all singapore drone flyers!!! Classifieds Jul 4, 2016