Attach small camera to P3?

Zak

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I'm a low-budget filmmaker. I love the design, ease-of-use, and price of the Phantom (especially now that the P3 can be had for very good deals).

Unfortunately the video quality just isn't quite good enough for high-quality film work. Even on the 4K model, the compression and low bitrate is often obvious and just doesn't match very well with professional video cameras that we otherwise use.

I'm wondering if anyone has experimented with putting a small additional camera on the Phantom. I'm thinking anything from a 9 oz Sony point-and-shoot to the 16 oz Blackmagic Micro camera. Does anyone know how much is too much before the weight gets significantly thrown off? (I've seen a few videos of the P3 trying to lift objects up to 2 lbs with limited success).

Before I get a lot of answers saying "it's not recommended" or "this isn't good for the life of the drone", let me just say I assume that already. I'm just trying to find out if it's possible, and what my limits are.

Thanks!!
Zak

Reactions: mcphipps
Welcome Zak,
Before I get a lot of answers saying "it's not recommended" or "this isn't good for the life of the drone", let me just say I assume that already. I'm just trying to find out if it's possible, and what my limits are.

Unfortunately, you will get those answers anyway. People really just want to help.
Photography is not in my wheelhouse, but there are quite a few people here that are very good at it. I am sure they will be able to help you. Good luck. Thanks for joining.

You have came to the right place for information. Enjoy your time here. Be sure to read all you can. There are tons of threads on just about any subject you can think of that has to do with the quad-copters. The search function works well here. Use it often, you will find what ever you need. In that rare case that you can not, there are great people here to help. Thanks for coming to Phantom Pilots! You are family now.