At what voltage to stop flying?

Reaction score
At what voltage under load(flying) is it wise to stop flying and you have like ~3 minutes left to land?
Ofcource a general question....Because i understand it depends on all kinds of factors.

I'm very conservative. I land my P2 at 30%. I have 6 batteries so I'm not trying to squeeze every last bit of life out of it. Just pop in a new one.

People run anywhere from 3.3v to 3.7v loaded. The former is very aggressive, the latter very aggressive. I run my 3S packs to 10.6v normally, which is 3.53v per cell. On most of my batteries if I land at 10.6v loaded, it recovers to 11.1v and works out to 80% drain.

Nannerz said:
I'm very conservative. I land my P2 at 30%. I have 6 batteries so I'm not trying to squeeze every last bit of life out of it. Just pop in a new one.

I think the lowest I've gone is down to 67% battery life. :oops:

I've got 3 batteries, so I just fly a few minutes on each one.

I'm still being really cautious.

I am a noob, so take what I say with a grain of salt.

I like to be on the ground at 30%. I have logged 14 flights with no crashes, just one unplanned landing on a juniper bush, without penalty. ;>)

Only once did I land with less, 24%, and the red lights were flashing as I was coming in for the landing. I was upset with myself, but I guess that is what noobs occasionally do. I can tell you that after 30%, the charge seems to fall off quite quickly.

Again, my goal is to have her landed by 30%. I consider myself to be a very conservative pilot.

For Fathers Day my bride bought me a Blade Nano QX. That little guy is crazy hard for me to fly. BUT, you can fly it for 6 minutes, and if you run her dry... she crashes well. LOL I like it because I can still fly on windy rainy days, be as reckless and irresponsible as I want and all without penalty. At worst, I'll be out less than $100.

Good fortune and fly safe......

Better safe than sorry.