Argtek Mod and range VERY limited.

Reaction score
Hi all,

Firstly, id like to say I'm new to droning and have just got my first P3S.

Stupidly while waiting for it to arrive i bought the ArgTek Range extender and fitted it before testing the stock antennae. Don't flame me..... i feel bad enough as it is :(

The issue is, today I took the bird over to a nice large open air park with very little in the way of obstacles or wifi interference (just trees), and lined it up in a direct line of sight and flew away.

I cant remember the altitude but i only managed to get to a distance of about 300ft before losing video signal and the bird wanting to fly home.

Surely 300ft is paltry no? I'm wondering if i should put the stock antennae back in and test it in case i have a defective ArgTek unit. Is there any other way to test?

Also how and where do i download flight logs?

Here is a pic of how far the bird got before losing video signal. You can see its pretty wide open space. Nothing much around to cause interference.

http://carlyoung.co.uk/p3s/rth_range.png

UK BASED
PHANTOM 3 STANDARD
ARGTEK MOD

If you flight with dji go app and android the logs are in this folder
Dji/dji.pilot/flightrecord
You can analyse that log at
Healthydrones.com or at phantomhelp/logviewer/upload

Enviado do meu LG-H955 através de Tapatalk

If you flight with dji go app and android the logs are in this folder
Dji/dji.pilot/flightrecord
You can analyse that log at
Healthydrones.com or at phantomhelp/logviewer/upload

Enviado do meu LG-H955 através de Tapatalk

I'm an apple man in afraid.

Is it the same for iPad/IPhone?

Well I did the same upgrade and my range was boosted by an extra 2-3km and much a strong signal in areas where before i lost signal in short range flights

you probably have the training switch still on, not even sure if thats what you call it, something like beginner mode i believe which limits your distance, correct me if im wrong guys but i think you just uncheck that box