Anyone encounter hostility while flying your drone?

Reaction score
I had a run in the other day while flying my drone. I am sure the guy was slightly unbalanced and he was going on and on how drones are invading his privacy. I was flying over the ocean and had launched from a park. At first I thought he was kidding then I realized he was serious and things started to escalate. He said he had called the police and they were going to confiscate my drone...LOL! I told him no problem let them come. By the way I am a retired police officer from the same PD that he called. Waited awhile and they didn't show so I left before this guy got any more crazy. I called dispatch and IDed myself and told them if in fact they did get a call the guy was nuts and if the beat man wanted any more information they could contact me at home. Dispatcher said the beat man met with the guy and also determined he was whacked...

I fly above the local parks and everyone that I have encountered just seemed thrilled to have actually seen one in person lol. I don't live in a neighborhood so I don't have frequent run ins

I encountered few gentlemen who casually asked me how difficult it is to get FAA registration and how to prove that we have it. I know they wanted to know if I followed the process of registration, I explained them its 5 minutes job to get it done and this is one of the ways to display it on your drone.

No more questions asked.

Reactions: SCGENE
I was flying out over a channel and on the way back was flying along side some train tracks by a small town. Some guy out of nowhere tried throwing a rock at my phantom. I ascended quickly and moved far away from him. He didn't approach me, and his friends came after him to stop him thankfully. I landed when he was out of sight, and packed up to avoid conflict.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

Reactions: riverphantom3