anybody do waypoint missions?

Reaction score
I see i can assign waypoints and drone will go off and fly them. Interested to hear from your experiences if anybody has do this? I think i would worry to see it disappear over the horizon and not come back for several minutes.

Waypoints have been available on the Phantom since 2013 so many people have used them and continue to do so. It is very useful for cinematography, mapping, etc. There are many videos on YT showing flights and how to set them up.

Reactions: dirkclod
I see i can assign waypoints and drone will go off and fly them. Interested to hear from your experiences if anybody has do this? I think i would worry to see it disappear over the horizon and not come back for several minutes.
I'm new to this hobby but I recently purchased litchi and tried a waypoint flight. I kept it fairly close, 300m or so in an area clear of obstacles. It worked flawlessly and allowed me to turn the camera in whichever direction I wanted during the flight. Works great!!

If you lose GPS for whatever reason and bird defaults to Atti mode, it can drift in the wind. IF you are not watching the bird to see it drift with the wind, it can get away from you.

That is true regardless of App used.

Air I've seen lots that have not thought about how it goes from start to the first waypoint and there be that drone eating tree
in the way .I think that's been an issue more than anything else I have ever read .

Reactions: Mark The Droner
Air I've seen lots that have not thought about how it goes from start to the first waypoint and there be that drone eating tree
in the way .I think that's been an issue more than anything else I have ever read .

good point, First rule of waypoints - first waypoint should be set above launch point at the desired altitude.

just to spell it out for the OP - if you set your first waypoint in the distance it will gradually, not immediately climb to the altitude you set.