And now for something completely different

Reaction score
Hi,

**** PREFACE: This will seem like jibberish if you are not a software developer *** :)

I am a software developer. The GO and Litchi apps seem pretty good. I suspect however, that they are calling published apis to do most of the work and then wrapping the functionality in a pretty UI. I'm sure I am oversimplifying it by saying it that way and I certainly don't mean any disrespect. I was just wondering if there are any other dev guys/gals around that would be interested in starting an open source project to either create a new app or tweek one of the existing apps. My thought is that we would use Xamarin Forms so that we could run it on ios/android/windows phone or a mac or pc and only have to write the code once. This is not a road I want to go down myself, but if anybody is interested, I'd like to kick it around a bit.
Thank ... Ed

I have never worked on xamarin forms but am definitely interested in learning.

The API's are available from DJI, as I understand it. The problem is there are two versions. There's a READ-ONLY API and there's a writable API.

The read-only API is freely available and is downloadable by anyone. The writable API is an entirely different matter. Those are commercially available and are negotiated price-wise on a one on one basis and DJI openly says that the price is directly proportional to how much money you make on using it. In other words, likely an up-front chunk and then a percentage.

They are not going to give you the writable APIs and you can't possibly negotiate a deal with them to do so. Anything of any value REQUIRES the writable APIs. Period. Don't believe me? I sincerely admire your desire and nobleness, but I leave you to further your due diligence. You're not the first to have this brainstorm. :)

Interesting. Well, since what I am suggesting is open source the proportional price is right in line! I'll ping them and see what they say and report back.