Almost Gave Up.... One Man's Phantom Story.

Reaction score
I'm a professional climber and filmmaker and bought the Phantom about three weeks ago with high hopes of getting unique aerial landscape and climbing videography. You can who I am here. http://www.cedarwright.com/

I guess I'm one of those annoying camera guys who could care less about the hobby and wants sick aerial footage NOW. With zero flying experience, I did one short test flight in a field and then headed out to Eldorado State Park here in Colorado and after a couple minutes of flying, crashed the phantom into a cliff. Miraculously it survived. That evening I excitedly plugged my go pro's sd card into my card reader expecting glorious aerial cinematography. Sadly, the footage looked like absolute ****. Between the Jello, the Jitter, and my spastic flying, it was completely unusable.

After several crashes, and some forum surfing I knew that I had to isolate the camera and balance the rotors but frankly if you've surfed around a bit you know these forums are loaded with useless drivel and only the occasional nugget of useful info. I tried Moon gel in several configurations, and the footage still looked like an earthquake on acid.... no good. Finally I typed "anti-vibration camera mount" into Ebay, and found a guy from Israel selling these really ghetto looking hand made rigs... basically two pieces of aluminum with some silicone spacers glued in between. I showed a professional photographer friend the link and he said it looked ridiculous, suggested maybe it was a mistake buying the phantom. But it was thirty bucks, shipped to my door and I figured, what the hell, I'll give it a shot.

Here is what I bought:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/ANTI-VIBRAT...=WDVW&rd=1&ih=002&category=30097&cmd=ViewItem